Sponsors

About me

I was born in 1957, which among other things meant that growing up as a girl with athletic aptitude was not a very happy experience.

I’m glad that women and girls today, at least in some countries, no longer have to face the barriers to participation in sports that my generation did. But it’s important for them to realize that it wasn’t always this easy, and to appreciate the opportunities they have that many others did not (and still don’t, in many places).

I was lucky in at least one respect: I had my brother Doug, eleven years my senior, to play sports with when I was a kid. An accomplished athlete in his own right, he is also probably the person most responsible for my own later achievements. A positive and formative influence in my early life, he was the one who taught me how to throw a baseball, a football, a basketball…and a frisbee.

And I was lucky, too, because we always had animals in our household, including dogs. They were my best friends and companions, especially on my rambles around the neighborhood. And still are.

In my teens I rode, trained, and cared for horses. In college my number one sport was rugby (playing initially on a men’s team, since there wasn’t a women’s). Having relocated from the flat, featureless landscape of the Midwest to the mountainous Pacific Northwest, I was also finally able to indulge my passion for mountaineering and rock climbing. Prior to that, my climbing had been limited to trees and the roofs of buildings. In 1982 I left the USA for Oxford, played rugby there as well (again, initially on a men’s team—the Oxford Old Boys, as it happens) and rowed in the Somerville 1st VIII in a year we went Head of the River starting from fourth place. The summer after I left Oxford (1987), I was a member of a 170-person crew powering the oars of the reconstructed Greek Trireme Olympias during her first sea trials.

By that time I had moved from the UK to Slovenia, then a republic of Yugoslavia. My first visit to this fairytale land was in 1985, as a volunteer in a work brigade on the alpine pasture of Planina na Uskovnici, above Lake Bohinj in Triglav National Park, and I was immediately captivated, most of all by the mountains. “I could happily live here”, I thought to myself, within hours of arrival. And so eventually I did.

I ended up settling in the Karst region in southwestern Slovenia, near the border with Italy, where I live with our three dogs in an unfinished house in a small village amidst beautiful landscapes, to which I have unfettered access through an endless and dense network of trails. In between exploring them, with the dogs of course, I make a living as a translator, editor, and teacher of English.

 

Long story short, I’ve done quite a few things over the course of my not-so-brief lifetime, but at this particular juncture my main passion is dogfrisbee. For more about how I got involved and where it’s led me, click on Dogfrisbee